Happiness

We don’t always know what makes us happy.  We know, instead, what we think SHOULD.  We are baffled and confused when our attempts at happiness fail… We are mute when it comes to naming accurately our own preference, delights, gifts, talents. The voice of our original self is often muffled, overwhelmed, even strangled by the voices of other peoples’ expectations.  The tongue of the original self is the language of the heart. – Julia Cameron

Over the past several weeks, my life has had a lot of turmoil introduced.  And I’m a pretty stable person, so I don’t handle turmoil particularly well.  One of the things I’ve been thinking about a lot since the holidays are coming up is happiness.  What makes me happy?  What makes our loved ones happy?

And the answer that kept coming to my head was…. a blank.  I had no idea what makes me happy.  I know what my parents want for me to be happy, my friends, my colleagues. I’m not talking about going to a funny movie, or hanging out with my friends, or those types of activities that make each of us happy.  I’m talking about the big picture, fundamental things that make each of us happy.  And at my age, I think I should know what makes ME happy.  That’s something that no one else can do for you.  I am the only person that will be affected by this.

So how do you know when you’re happy?  Is it the number of times a day you laugh or smile?  Is it getting through the day without wanting to destroy things due to frustration?  How do you know what makes you happy?

Leave a Reply

