Meditation: failure

I tried meditating last night. More like thinkatating…. The gray rain has sent a gloomy cast over my mind. We need rain, but winter rain always seems especially gloomy. My attempt to focus on clearing the thoughts from my mind was not successful. I know that meditating is supposed to help to ease depressing thoughts, but …. Maybe it’s being an only child, I only like being alone when I *want* to be alone. Yes, I know I sound like a spoiled brat for that statement…
But I don’t like being alone in general, much less being alone in my mind, with none of my friends to occupy me, Jane Austen, CNN, news anchors, musicians, etc. Being alone with my thoughts and feelings is a scary thing to confront.
So, my first attempt at meditation was not the most successful thing ever.
Leave a Reply

