The Universe provides, the Dude abides

I believe that people are brought into your life for a reason.  There are people that have something that you need to learn from them, and when you need them they will appear in your life. And whatever they have to teach you, you also have something to teach them. 

I met someone a few months ago that I feel was brought into my life for this reason.  I was at a very vulnerable moment when I met this person, and they were kind, caring, genuine, and made me feel alive again. I had a very strong positive gut reaction upon meeting this person, which hadn’t happened in a very long time. I truly believe that they were brought into my life at that moment for a reason, and they have something very important to teach me.  I just wasn’t sure what it was…

This person is going to teach me to be alone. And be happy about it.  I’m typically a pretty happy person, but have been unhappy for a long time. Being alone is especially difficult for me, and makes me very unhappy, prone to depression and loneliness. I know its odd that I think someone else is going to teach me to be alone, but after a recent conversation I really believe that.  

My friend told me that as a kid, being alone was normal, and they were happy to be alone and didn’t have a lot of friends, socializing was very difficult.  This didn’t make them happy as a teenager, and it was something that needed to be changed.  At some point in time, my friend came to the realization that the unhappiness of being alone was more powerful than the fear or awkwardness of getting out of the comfort zone, socializing, putting yourself out there to meet new people. If you’re already unhappy, what do you have to lose by getting out of your comfort zone?

I find it ironic, I think this person and I are 2 sides of the same coin. I didn’t have problems making friends as a child, but no matter how many friends I had, I still tended to feel lonely. I struggle with being alone a lot now.  I think its because I’m not happy to be on my own, I want to be around people. My friend is going to teach me to be alone and be happy about it.  Which will be exceptionally difficult and scary.  But is most likely something that I need to feel, face, and grow from.  Its going to be a fun path! 

 

Leave a Reply

